Lactose and Gluten Free Foods: You Need To Know ⋆ Glutengetfree – A Smart and Healthy Gluten-Free Lifestyle

Lactose is a natural sugar that is contained in milk and its derivative products. In the human body, lactose is broken down into glucose and galactose. While gluten is a kind of protein that is found in several food ingredients such as wheat. However, there are some people who are intolerant with lactose and gluten. Gluten is also avoided by those who are on a diet or suffering from celiac diseases. So, what are lactose and gluten free foods? Here they are.

Lactose-Free Foods

People who are intolerant to lactose must avoid milk products and foods which contain milk. In fact, milk contains a lot of nutrients which are beneficial for the health of the body. So, in order to make your body get complete nutrients, you can consume these lactose-free foods.

  • #Milk Made from Nuts
    Lactose is usually found in cow’s milk, sheep’s milk, goat’s milk, and horse’s milk. While milk that is made from almonds, cashews, and soy is free from lactose. So, if you want to eat cereal as your breakfast, you can combine it with almond milk instead of cow’s milk.
  • #Vegetables
    Consume more green vegetables such as broccoli, spinach, and beans. Those vegetables are rich in calcium and iron which are needed by your body. Because you cannot get enough calcium from milk products, those vegetables can be your savior. A cup of cooked spinach contains 250 milligrams that is equal to a glass of cow’s milk.
  • #Fish
    Besides green vegetables, the best source of calcium for you who are intolerant to lactose is fish. The kinds of fish that are rich in calcium are sardines, salmon, and tuna. Those fishes contain high calcium and Vitamin D. A half can of sardines contain around 300 milligrams calcium. So, make sure you consume fish and other seafood in order to fulfill your daily need for calcium. You also have to make sure that the fishes you consume are not cooked with milk products such as butter.

Gluten-Free Foods

Gluten-free foods are suggested to be consumed by those who are allergic to it or suffered from celiac disease. Here are the foods which are free from gluten.

  • #Spinach
    Spinach is rich in minerals and various vitamins. Spinach is not only suggested to be consumed by those who are suffered from celiac disease but also those who are suffered from chronic diseases such as heart attack and heart disease. Do not consume cooked spinach after 4 hours. So, directly eat the vegetable.
  • #Almond
    Almond is the highest source of protein that is free from gluten. So that it is suggested to be consumed by those who are allergic to gluten. Moreover, almonds are very beneficial for the health of the body, especially for the digestive system, brain, and bones.
  • #Corns
    Corns are also one of the lactose and gluten free foods. It is a sugar source that can replace the nutrient from gluten. You can also replace rice with corns for a healthier food ingredient.

Let us know if you liked the post. That’s the only way we can improve.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *