Who does not like canned soups? Canned soups are practical, you just need to reheat it. However, people who are suffering from celiac disease or allergic to gluten must be really careful in consuming canned soups. It is because quite many canned soups are not gluten-free. They contain gluten ingredients which are mostly in the form of thickeners. Especially, cream-based soups which usually contain more wheat flour than cream.
But, do not be worried. Along with the popularity of the gluten-free diet, there are some canned soup brands which offer gluten-free canned soups.
What about Campbell, one of the most popular brands? Are there any Campbell’s gluten free soups ? Unfortunately, for you who are a fan of this most popular brand, there is no gluten-free soup included in their gluten-free product list.
Campbell only has 5 organic boxed soups which are considered gluten-free. Those organic boxed soups are lentil, chicken tortilla, sun-ripened tomato and basil bisque, garden vegetable with herbs, and creamy butternut squash.
You have to remember that those Campbell’s soups are boxed soups, not the canned ones. And for your information, Campbell’s organic products include several soups which contain gluten that are processed with the same equipment or in the same facility.
So, there is a possibility that even those boxed soups which are considered gluten-free, contaminated with gluten. If you are willing to choose other brands than Campbell, there are actually some brands that offer gluten-free soups. Here they are.
Bookbinder Specialties is a gourmet soup company that is based in Philadelphia. It is one of the first companies which offer gluten-free soups. The gluten-free soups they offer are including butternut squash and mushrooms, Sicilian tomato zucchini, New England clam chowder, sweet burgundy onion, Cuban black bean, Southwestern clam and corn chowder, zesty tomato, and also Tuscan minestrone. For you who wish to make a clam sauce or clam chowder by yourself, Bookbinder Specialties also has a gluten-free clam juice.
All of those gluten-free products are tested to under 20 parts per million. Bookbinder Specialties’ soups are available in most supermarkets in the Northeastern United States. For your information, this company also produces soups which contain gluten. So, do not choose the wrong products.
The next gluten-free soup brand is Frontier Soup. Frontier offers gluten-free soups in 28 different varieties. Those varieties include Nebraska Barn Raising Split Pea, New Orleans jambalaya, and also Texas wrangler black bean. Frontier mentions that those soups are not made in a gluten-free facility.
However, they add that their gluten-containing soups are made and stored separately so that it can be ensured that there is no crossover of gluten ingredients or gluten products. Moreover, those soups mentioned are all already certified gluten-free by the Celiac Sprue Association. The association requires testing to under 5 parts per million of gluten.
The Best Substitution for Campbell’s Gluten Free Soups Product
It said that you will get many health benefits from having a gluten-free diet in your everyday meals. Fortunately, we can find many products that can help us to use this diet method. One of them is the product of Campbell. One of the most popular products from this brand is the campbell’s gluten free soups. With this product, you can make soup easily and its ingredient is designed to be gluten-free.
Unfortunately, many of the latest products from Campbell can’t be said as a gluten-free product anymore. Yes, there are still other products in their line of product that has gluten-free status. But, the product like the chicken broth or meat broth, use one of the ingredients that make it has gluten inside. We found that it uses barley yeast.
For some people, barley yeast maybe won’t be a problem. So, even if you are in the middle of a gluten-free diet, taking this much of gluten won’t affect your diet. However, the main problem here is the consumer that has Celiac disease. This disease is very sensitive to gluten. Therefore, the barley yeast is a big no for them.
Fortunately, there is another soup product from Campbell that doesn’t have that problematic ingredient. Mostly, this is the vegetable soup type. So, if you want to try the soup product from Campbell, you can try those the vegetable soup products. Just make sure you read the ingredient list to ensure that there is no problem consumes it.
On the other hand, you also can make soup. There is a base soup recipe you can use as the start. Then, you just add many ingredients in it to create the soup that you like. Are you interested? Here is the recipe of the gluten-free soup you can try.
- 1 1/3 cups of soy milk. Or, you also can use low-fat milk, if you can’t find the soy milk.
- ¼ cup of all-purpose flour. Choose the gluten-free flour. Make sure you read the package carefully, so you won’t make a mistake.
- ¼ light butter.
- ½ teaspoon of salt. You also can omit this ingredient, if you plan to add the salt later after you insert the other ingredients.
The direction to make the base soup using those ingredients is easy. Just put all of them inside the blender and blend them all. Then, you just need to heat it up, if you want to make the soup. With this base soup, you don’t need to use Campbell’s soup anymore. Moreover, you also have more freedom to create any soup that you like using this base soup.
Campbell is indeed a very popular brand that has many great products. Unfortunately, for people that need a gluten-free product and have Celiac disease, we don’t recommend you to use their product. Even though they have a gluten-free product, but the place to make the product is still the same. So, there is a chance that there is contamination when they produce the campbell’s gluten free soups.
So, it can be said that the gluten-free soups produced by Frontier are trusted. You are able to find the products in upscale supermarkets. You can also find and buy the soups online.
Let us know if you liked the post. That’s the only way we can improve.